Home| About|Schools|Programs|Publications|Downloads|Contact Us



   Global Centre for Nuclear Energy Partnership (GCNEP)

      Government of India has approved the establishment of Global Centre for Nuclear Energy Partnership (GCNEP) at village Jasaur Kheri & Kheri Jasaur, near Bahadurgarh, District Jhajjar, Haryana, in September 2010. GCNEP is the sixth R&D unit under the aegis of Department of Atomic Energy (DAE). The centre is about 55 km from Delhi airport on NH-10 (Delhi – Rohtak - Fazilka). The nearest town is Bahadurgarh. The land for the centre has been acquired and the master plan of the institute is ready. Phase-I construction of the Centre is complete.


      mark To conduct research, design and development of nuclear systems that are intrinsically safe, secure, proliferation resistant and sustainable.
      mark To organize training, seminars, lectures and workshops on topical issues by Indian and International experts, in order to develop a pool of trained human resource.
      mark To promote global nuclear energy partnership through collaborative research and training programs.
      mark To establish five schools specializing in the areas of :
            •Advanced Nuclear Energy System Studies
            •Nuclear Security Studies
            •Radiation Safety Studies
            •Nuclear Material Characterization Studies
            •Application of Radioisotopes and Radiation Technology in healthcare, agriculture and food


      GCNEP will help in capacity building, in association with the interested countries and the IAEA, involving technology, human resource development, education & training and giving a momentum to R&D in enlisted areas. The main objectives of the centre include
      mark Development of enhanced nuclear safeguards to effectively and efficiently monitor nuclear materials and facilities.
      mark Promoting the development of advanced, more proliferation resistant nuclear power reactors.
      mark Training manpower in the field of Nuclear Security and Radiological Safety.
      mark Educating in the field of Advanced Nuclear Energy Systems, Isotopes and Radiation Technologies, nuclear forensic.
      mark Establishing accreditation facilities for radiation monitoring.

The centre will house following 5 schools to carry out its objectives:
      1. School of Advanced Nuclear Energy System Studies (SANESS)
      2. School of Nuclear Security Studies (SNSS)
      3. School on Radiological Safety Studies (SRSS)
      4. School of Nuclear Material Characterization Studies (SNMCS)
      5. School for Studies on Applications of Radioisotopes and Radiation Technologies (SARRT)

      In addition, DAE Outreach Programme Cell will also be setup for publicity of technologies developed by DAE for rural areas.

Best viewed in Mozilla Firefox 22.0, Google Chrome 27.0, Internet Explorer 9.0 under 1024 x 768 or higher